Saturday, February 27, 2016

8051 Architecture

8051 Microcontroller Simplified Internal Architecture

8051 Architecture

8051 is a strict Harvard Architecture Computer.
CPU: It consists of ALU and Control Unit. Its primary purpose is to fetch, decode and execute instructions in ROM.
Oscillator: It sources clock pluses to CPU.
System Bus: It consists of Address Bus and Data Bus. It connects memory and peripherals to CPU.
ROM: 4K bytes for storing program instructions.
RAM: 128 bytes for storing temporary variables during program execution.
Bus Control: To generate control signals like read, write.
Interrupt Control: There are 5 interrupts in 8051. It control interrupts based on priority.
Timer: To count clock pluses and measuring time intervals.
Serial Port: Serial protocol to communicate with external devices.
IO Port: There are 4 ports with 8 pins each. Some pins are multiplexed. Designer can  select the functionality.

Related topics:
8051 History   |   8051 Features   |   8051 Pin Diagram   |   8051 Memory Types   |   8051 Memory Map

List of topics: 8051

No comments:

Post a Comment